#9

I never got caught for underage drinking. Once, in the grounds of Bangor Grammar School, we didn’t realise the police were there until they shone a torch in our faces. We ran like hell. Another time, I hid by the pier when they showed up, only to regain my confidence when I realised they were just bored and chatting to my friends about GCSE subjects. I never heard of anyone else being done for it, either. I guess the police just focused on bigger issues. I mean, #2 got done once for joyriding, but he’d chosen to steal a JCB, not exactly the fastest getaway vehicle. So, you know.

When two police officers showed up at the Point, dozens of kids scattered. I was among them, until I overheard what they were actually there for. A woman had been attacked the day before and had left her baby’s buggy in the area, and the police were just looking to retrieve it. I’d seen it, so I went over and directed them to it, banking on karma points. It worked fine. They thanked me, took the buggy, and went away.

There seemed to be about a hundred kids there that night, many of whom I’d never met before. I don’t remember a whole bunch of details about #9, other than his full name and I’m not sure where I learned that from. He was kind of tall and maybe had good eyebrows? I was talking to him for a little bit and then I said, “Do you want to get off?” He said, “Yeah, but I don’t want to go out with you.” This was kind of annoying, since I hadn’t proposed anything of the sort, but whatever. We headed to a secluded area together and made out for half an hour. It was pretty good and plus he was the first person to grope me who wasn’t #8, which suited me a lot better.

I said my goodbyes when I heard my long-suffering friend Jayne calling me. She was kind of quiet and didn’t drink and I had completely abandoned her. She was less than thrilled about this. Anyway, it was time to go get our lift home.

Probably purely because #9 had already said he didn’t want to go out with me, I figured it would’ve been a nice idea. I was interested in getting to know him better. I don’t think I ever saw him again.

~ by Nine on 18 October 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
