#44

#44 was living in Edinburgh for a year or so. I can’t remember what she did for a living, she wasn’t a student, but she came along to the uni LGBT society and that’s how we got to know her. I think she didn’t get along with her flatmate, so while mine were still away at Easter she came and crashed at my place.

She was a few years older than me and I thought of her as extremely chilled and sorted. I remember her intervening when a couple started having a fight in the street, and I remember her telling people at Beltane in no uncertain terms to get out of her space. She was really good at expressing her boundaries and I guess she was an early role model for me while I was trying to figure stuff out myself.

I’m pretty sure we kissed in spin-the-bottle once or twice. The game featured at several parties that year. I was pretty gleeful about it because I’d been too nervous to play it back when I was twelve and had thus delayed my first kiss by two years. Queer university spin-the-bottle was fun.

For a while, when I was kind of smitten with #53, I worried that she and #44 had something going on together and were trying to be discreet about it. I even dreamed they were going out. The reality may have been a bit more complicated; something involving #53 and #45, actually, but I’ve been drunk whenever #45’s explained to me what was going on all those years ago, so I still don’t really know. It doesn’t matter any more.

I hung out with #44 in Toronto in the summer of 1998. We weren’t very good at keeping in touch after that. I think #42 slept with her when they met again in some other city somewhere in the USA. I don’t know if I remember anything right.

~ by Nine on 3 December 2008.

One Response to “#44”

  1. Ha, I spent this whole post trying to decide if #44 was who I thought, and then got to the last paragraph was like, “Oh, yes. Yes, it is.” Though it was actually in Toronto that that happen. Which just made me realise for the first time that I’ve gotten laid in 5 different countries, on 3 different continents. I’m not sure if that’s impressive or not.

Leave a Reply

 
