#177

When I first met #177 he was a go-go dancer at my friend’s club. He was subsequently responsible for my return to the world of journalism. I hadn’t written for a magazine in years, and wasn’t particularly interested in doing it again, but #177 flattered me into writing a couple of reviews, and then the next thing I knew he was leaving town and wanted me to take over his editing role. (“You’re moving away?” said #110. “If I’d known you were going to do that I wouldn’t have wasted all this time getting to know you.”) I said okay, but only for a little while until I found someone more suited to it. And then I never really looked for anyone, and now here we are, almost four years on.

The reason I’d quit journalism had been a sense that I was bluffing my way through it, and a feeling of exhaustion from trying to find things to say about stuff I wasn’t really interested in. This time round, I paced myself from the beginning, only signing up to write the occasional review or feature, and mostly just focusing on editing other people’s work. I guess it’s gone pretty well, and I’m pretty happy with some of the stuff I’ve done, though the size of the readership is actually terrifying so I usually just pretend half a dozen people are reading. And now that I’m in the redundancy club, it turns out that editing makes up the bulk of what I’m doing for money nowadays, so I’m indebted to #177 for sending me down this path.

Plus I wouldn’t have met #182 if it weren’t for him, but we’re getting to that.

As for when we kissed, it was at an art student party in Marchmont. I was already pretty drunk and had just made a pass at #166, who’d politely declined, which was when I realised very belatedly that our fling-or-whatever was over. I guess #177 and I were bored, so we made out. Afterwards, a friend asked him what the hell that was about, and allegedly he explained that although he didn’t fancy girls, he’d felt attracted to me there and then. Making out with him was pretty damn hot, and seeing as I have some gender issues which we’re not going to talk about here, the feedback was also good to hear. Anyway, it didn’t last long because Leonard pushed me out of the way and proclaimed that it was his turn.

~ by Nine on 26 October 2009.

2 Responses to “#177”

  1. I love your blog, it’s quite genius.

  2. Leonard sounds awesome :)

Leave a Reply

 
